Welcome to the TKT Course

You made it! You are about to embark on a journey that will help you be not just a well-prepared teacher to take the TKT exams, but also a great teacher with lots of tricks, tools and toys up his or her sleeve.

Welcome to the TKT Preparation Course I am very excited about starting a fresh course with you.

TKT is a test about teaching English to speakers of other languages. In this course, you will not only be learning strategies to help you pass the test, but you will also discover strategies, techniques, and methods to improve your teaching.
You might end up shaking your foundations and at the very least, breaking your own traditions to let some new ones in.

Subscribe to the blog for any new posts or pages. In order to grow with this course you must participate in the post forums in an active and substantial manner. Please read the page Blogging Guidelines, located in a tab at the top of this page for details on how to post.

Substantial= 75 words initial post with a minimum amount of grammar and spelling mistakes. 25 words minimum to reply to someone. Posting, ”Good job!” is not enough.

Special Requirements:
80% attendance and participation
100% self-discovery work, essays, posts, and assignments, online or offline….you must embark on your learning journey
80% GPA  (grade point average) on the three module exams

As part of the class, you will create your own blog which you will use in this class as your interconnected b-portfolio. Recommended: WordPress.com. WordPress will walk you through the set-up process. Set up your blog before class starts; you may use the link on the right of this page entitled Teacher Challenge; this is a step-by-step procedural to help you set up your blog.

You may follow these steps from the Teacher Challenge. Although Edublogs is used in the challenge mentioned, please use WordPress.com

, ,

  1. #1 by mancinyross on July 10, 2012 - 4:00 am

    i ‘m very happy with the course because i want to certified to improve my english proficiency and get more interesting tools to be a better teacher !!!!!!

  2. #2 by yesyhd on August 20, 2012 - 10:27 pm

    Welcome to the most wonderful course in the world!
    This amazing course is going to help you as much as you want! It’s gonna be fun and interesting; this course is really helpful for those teachers who REALLY want to change their teaching style (even if you don’t have any idea what it is going to be about, calm down and work hard)!
    As a teacher you will learn how to help students to think instead of just hearing the whole day their teachers talk. How to learn that each student has a different learning style and how important it is to hear their thoughts instead of just judging them! Awesome!
    So, in my humble opinion, work as much as you think you will need to, use your blog-if you’re not good at writing, this is gonna help you at least to develop this skill-any comment, any idea, share it, there is an entire world waiting for new ideas and thoughts! So, have fun and enjoy each part of this terrific TKT COURSE! Keep in mind any useful strategy! (The most important thing to remember: the sticky wall (lol)…one day you will be asking, calling and begging Ellen for the name of the material, really helpful to get your students active!)

  3. #3 by Raymundo on August 20, 2012 - 10:33 pm

    Hello new TKT class!! Well you are just reading a welcome speech from a (now) English teacher, and…How did I get it? It was during the summer in 2011 that I took this course with Ellen and completely decided to get that grade. It’s good to say that this course is not just to help us or even guide us to pass the TKT exam, in fact this course is much more than this, it will help you learn how to (really) teach English.

    I hope all of you take advantage of this course, of this opportunity!! Just never give up!!!

    RAY!

  4. #4 by Laura Patricia Rodríguez Aguilar on August 22, 2012 - 3:37 am

    Hi new TKT learners !! Welcome to this amazing course !! If you love teaching and this is your passion in life, you are going to enjoy it !! It is great to be guided and encouraged by an exceptional teacher who inspires us to improve our job as english teachers. I took the course a couple of years ago and I got excellent results ! I have improved my teaching job since I took the course and I am able to use different techniques in order to help and guide my students through their learning process. I hope you enjoy and learn as much as I did !!
    W E L C O M E !! HAVE A NICE SEMESTER !! =)

    P.D. Don´t forget to bring your homework every class as well as the material required, ok ?

  5. #5 by Erika Villicana on August 24, 2012 - 2:46 am

    Hello TKT Class,
    Welcome to this amazing course, you have a great opportunity to learn how to teach using a lot of strategies, and useful techniques. I took this amazing course two years ago, and I’m a better teacher now because of it. Besides that I can tell you that I’m a better person too. Enjoy this course because it’s a really good life experience. You have an excellent teacher, so I hope that you get good results this semester.

    Welcome and Good luck !!!!.

  6. #6 by mrferchopoliz on September 6, 2012 - 5:06 am

    Hi how are you I totally agree with all the commets I read above, yes this is an amazing experinece and you have to take all the advantages that you can. Even I am still not an English Teacher I think this course opened my eyes and changed my mind, I think the knowledge now I have I can aply to in any teaching envaironment because I would like one day to become a Chemistry tacher as I studied in my major. I wish the best for all of you and you have to do your best effort, work hard. Bye be well and see you soon. Your friend Fer =D

  7. #7 by loquillo23 on September 8, 2012 - 6:25 pm

    Hello fellows, I just want to tell you: welcome to the TKT course! This is going to be a nice experience for us, I want to tell you that, in the beginning this thing of the blogs could be something difficult, for another ones (including me sometimes) really hard, or maybe you cannot find much words to share, this is very common, and this happened to me just a few minutes ago before of start to write but I want to tell everyone that this is really fun, I have long time without writing something on the blog and I forgot how fun this is. Everyone has something to share, something interesting, maybe some people do not know that is so, but for other people something easy or something you like in your profession or job could be really interesting, then I invite you don´t be shy to share your thoughts, your ideas, your interests, experiences, whatever you know, and especially do not worry if you make mistakes in the beginning, sometimes you learn better this way (lol). Have a nice day.

  8. #8 by gloriamgonzalez83 on September 12, 2013 - 5:35 am

    Hi Ellen, this is Gloria :), just so let ya know that I set up my new blog!!!, still working on the details:), and struggling a little bit with the “about” thing!!! see ya Saturday 🙂

Leave a comment